- Home
- Downloads
-
Addons & Mods
Featured
World of Warcraft
6,111 Mods
-
Popular Downloads
- Top World of Warcraft Addons
- Top Minecraft Server Mods
- Top Rift Addons
- Top Skyrim Mods
- Top World of Tanks Skins
- Top StarCraft II Maps
- Top Terraria Maps
- Top Runes of Magic Addons
- Top Warhammer Online Addons
- Top The Secret World Mods
- Top Age of Conan Addons
-
- Curse Client
- Premium
- News
- Giveaways
- Forums
- Store
I have today seen two very convincing emails portraying to have come from Blizzard, one saying that I have now access to beta (yeah, right, already in!), and another saying that my Diablo installation needs to be redone before the release.
Problem was, both have come into an email address that has ONLY been given to Curse, hence this leads to the question, did Curse sell my data on even though I've opted out of all third party communications, or has Curse been hacked into?
Or perhaps a tracking cookie is on your machine. Try getting super anitspyware and scanning your machine.
Check out Ghostery (http://www.ghostery.com/) if you want to know how many trackers, and a few other things, are being used on the sites you visit. It also allows you to block them. 8^)
Curse has never sold data to anyone, and never plan to. As mentioned above, please be sure to check your machine for any sort of spyware or viruses. Also be sure to check email headers, etc.
lol @ tracking cookie, good joke.
Curse have had their database exposed as I have also had plenty of gaming related phishing attempts being sent to a unique curse-gaming only address that has never been used to send email.
If our database had been exposed, you would have received an e-mail stating as such and asking you to rescure your credentials similar to the dozens upon dozens of other hacked sites.
So I have the same problem with phishing attempts to my email (which is curseclient@xxxxxxxxxxx) .. They first started coming in around the time I was playing Cataclysm, then stopped after I stopped playing for a handful of months.. I have since reformatted my machine, and thought "meh, let's see what pandas are about... I'll clearly need curse"... and suddenly, the phishing scams started again... to the same curseclient@xxxxxxxxxxx email...
I find it hard to believe that any spyware infections on my machine would single out this EXACT email address (and ONLY this email address) which is ONLY used for curse client registration. I find it equally hard to believe that this only occurs when curse client is installed on my machine. So unless you're suggesting that your software in-and-of-itself is spyware, what is your explanation for this anomaly?
Phishing scams starting again and you starting to visit Curse/using Curse Client again could also just be a correlation instead of a causation, both being related to the release of MoP. So it doesn't have to be a new issue if those sending the phishing mails used a set of addresses expected/known to be in the context of WoW.
(still doesn't explain how the address was exposed in first place though...)
This posting is made of 100% recycled electrons.
raidekoptix, we've not had any sort of information leak that would have handed out your email address, and Curse would never sell your details. As Elkano has stated above, this is likely a correlation, not the cause. Additionally, be sure to thoroughly check your machine, to be safe.
One of the spam e-mails I received has 100+ addresses in the "To:" field. I beleive this is a list taken directly from the curse-gaming database as 5 of the addresses have custom "curse" aliases, like curse@ curse-gaming@ etc.
I am interested to know if all or some of these addresses are registered here at curse.com/curse-gaming.com
If a mod wants to PM me I can give you the pastebin for the e-mail (incl. headers)
PMed you -- I'm most certainly interested in seeing it.
Any update on this? Don't want my details sold (+it's illegal)
As stated several times in this thread, Curse has nothing to do with this.