By now everyone knows, most of the xxxInterface.com sites (not vgsohinterface.com, though) are owned by a parent company that also owns IGE which promotes gold farming and selling. Due to this reason Sigil has banned all links to their site, and its staff are not welcome in any Sigil created content ever.
VGInterface.com has been trying to combat this bad press by stating they have nothing to do with IGE and Sigil never said anything bad about them.
This thread shows them trying to deny everything. They almost make a pretty good case. Except that when anyone posts anything that does not make them look innocent they silently moderate it. The person who posted it can still see their post, but no one else can. This is their form of damage control.
I went there attempting to post the proof they ask for in the thread that Sigil is in severe disagreement with them and I was moderated.
Here is a quote from a Sigil developer from This Official Thread
Quote: Elrar; Just a heads up guys, VGInterface.com (not www.vgsohinterface.com) is owned and operated by OGaming, an IGE affiliated site. Due to this affiliation we will not allow any links to this site on these forums. The site and its backers are in direct conflict with the game and are not welcome in any titles Sigil Games Online creates.
If you see this site or any other IGE or Secondary Market operated site being referred to feel free to report them. (we understand those that link it may not be affiliated with the site and are unaware of our stance towards IGE and the secondary market and therefore do not hold the poster responsible)
Thank you everyone
Having my posted deleted when I tried to post this information on their thread asking for the quote, this only, to me, confirms what they are trying to deny.
Until I hear from Sigil themselves that they hold no beef with VGInterface.com I will not be posting my UI Mods to their site and I would urge others not to do so as well.
-Nadger
Comments
what happened regarding domain names with ige vs sigil?
Since IGE played monkey business with domain names regarding Vanguard, obviously its a sore subject for Sigil. I'm sure anyone remotely affiliated with IGE is on their $hit list, regardless of who literally operates and runs the site.
I'm confused, according to Wikipedia IGE founded RPG Holdings, and then purchased websites through them as a sort of "cover".
Quote: IGE's parent company, RPG Holdings purchased Allakhazam.com in November 2005[1] and was annouced in May 2006[2]. Allakhazam is a popular MMORPG community site for a wide variety of games that IGE's services cater for. The site had prided itself on not supporting the trade of virtual currencies in the real economy. This marks the further expansion of this company's presence in online gaming communities. This purchased followed that of ThottBot.com.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IGE
I'm assuming this is why Sigil doesn't like you, since the interface sites are owned by OGaming, which is owned indirectly by IGE.
Sure, I'll delete it. Might as well delete my post on vgsohinterface as well to put this all behind us
So, can I hope that you'll correct your statements that you've posted elsewhere as well?
And you didn't answer me on whether you will delete the spam on VGI if I un-mute you.
I hope you are able to get in contact with Sigil and clear the whole thing up. Hopefully they can issue a public statement declaring they were misinformed and that they don't hold any issues with your site.
For the good of the community I hope they do.
Thank you for explaining what happened.
"I completely understand and respect that you don't want links to competing interface sites on your site..."
"Now go look at our other sites. We have no objections to links to other sites. For pity's sake, we post them ourselves when the community is looking for something and we don't have it. We don't allow spamming. There is a huge difference."
You have nothing else to go on? How about 5 years of there never being any links to RMT on our sites? How about 5 years of there never being links to exploits and hacks on our sites?
I respect Sigil's beliefs and wishes too. That's what is making me so bloody crazy about all this. We AGREE with them. We do the EXACT SAME THING.
We aren't owned by IGE. We aren't run by them. We have absolutely nothing to do with them and they have absolutely nothing to do with us. It was a REQUIREMENT of the merger! But no one will listen to me.
Yes, I get hot under the collar every time this comes up. Because you (generic usage of "you", not personal) are impugning MY honour and integrity.
As for why we "moderated my post that was just a quote from Sigil ..." - you have to understand how our software works. We didn't "moderate" a single bloody thing. We muted you. Because you were spamming. However, we can't *selectively* mute. If we mute someone, that mutes *all* of their posts.
I am more than willing to un-mute you. But I will only do so if you agree to delete the spam. A single post with the link to the other sites in a single established thread asking for locations of mods is one thing. Starting multiple new threads to post the same thing is something else entirely. Spam. THAT was why you got muted, that and nothing else.
As for the "agressive stance" with Sigil. No we aren't. They have a problem with us because they are misinformed. We have no problem with them. There is a difference. And the same as with everyone else, as proved yet again here, we can't get them to listen any more than we can get anyone else to listen.
No where have we ever said that they have "lied". We have said that they have incorrect information.
Stop taking my statements and twisting them, claiming that I've said things I haven't.
I admit, yes I posted about 5 times with links to vgsohinterface.com in response to several people asking where they can find vg mods. I simply told them. I completely understand & respect that you don't want links to competing interface sites on your site, when you are trying to build your own community.
However you still didn't explain why you moderated my post that was just a quote from the Sigil developers and nothing more. What I don't understand is why a Sigil Developer would lie, if what you are saying is true.
I understand that your a separate entity from IGE, however that does not change the fact that you are on aggressive stance with Sigil according to that quote. I respect Sigil's beliefs and wishes enough that I believe them.
I am sorry if all of this is false, I can see where you are coming from. But as it stands I have the word of mouth of you, and the word of mouth of Sigil, and nothing else to go on.
Why don't you try telling the truth, Nadger. Your posts on VGI weren't comments about the site at all. The only thing you posted on any of the threads were spam adverts for another site.
We moderate anything bad said about the site, do we? Then why don't you go look at this forum: http://www.vginterface.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=9
Plenty of "bad" stuff said about us in there. Quotes of the comments made by Sigil in the Beta forums, including the one you've quoted.
If we're trying to "hide" anything, we sure have a funny way of doing it.
Nothing but misrepresentation on your part to try to discredit us.
Had you posted discussion, it would have been left, just like everyone else's has been left. The only thing you did was spam post the exact same thing on multiple threads, that being links to another site. That is called spamming. Shall I restore them to prove it?
Now go look at our other sites. We have no objection to links to other sites. For pity's sake, we post them ourselves when the community is looking for something and we don't have it. We don't allow spamming. There is a huge difference.
How many different times and ways I have to prove that we aren't owned by IGE, I don't know. We are not. To say that we are is blatantly, totally and completely incorrect and borders on being slanderous and libelous. Twisting facts to make yourself look good.
They don't own us. They don't own our parent company. They don't own the parent of our parent. They don't operate us. Our parent company doesn't operate us. The parent of our parent doesn't operate us. The exact same people that started and operated our sites 5 years ago are the same people that operate our sites now. Myself, Dolby and Kudane.
After what happend to FFXI and farmers selling gil. I just cannot support any gold affiliated site anymore.
Just because it doesn't have ads on it doesn't make it any less evil.
what bout - www.wowinterface.com ? notice how there are "no" goldselling links (that i can see at first glance) on that site.. o_O
odd.
SS is broken btw
Thanks, my bad. I of course meant the eqinterface wowinterface etc sites not vgsohinterface. I love that place.
Also thanks for putting up the screenshot, not only does it allow non beta players to see it but when the beta boards get wiped before launch it will survive as proof.
Notice the post says that VGSOHInterface.com is an affiliate, but you blanket include xxxInterface.com in you post. It's inaccurate, and you should correct it.
You may want to screenshot the official thread as you need forum access to view it :)